The German Federal Cabinet has agreed to lift entry restrictions for the residents of 11 third-countries, which previously categorised as epidemiologically safe by the EU Council.

The decision was taken in today’s meeting of the Cabinet, who agreed that out of Council’s list of 15 countries, 11 of them shall be granted with unrestricted entry starting from July 2, at 12 am.

While the Cabinet decided to leave out four countries listed as ‘safe’ by the Council, – Algeria, Morocco, Rwanda and Serbia – residents of the following can enter Germany as of tomorrow:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • China *
  • Georgia
  • Japan *
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • South Korea *
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

*depending on the reciprocal granting of entry opportunities

EU’s list of ‘safe’ third-countries will be reviewed and updated every fortnight, and it is not legally binding for the Member States. It remains to each country to evaluate and decide whether they want to grant entry to the residents of all countries in the list or just a few of them.

At the same time, Germany has also extended the list of third-country nationals outside of the list above, that can enter its territory from July 2, as follows:

  • German nationals,
  • European Union citizens
  • Third-country nationals with an existing right of residence in Germany
  • Health personnel, health researchers and geriatric nursing staff
  • Foreign specialists and highly qualified employees, whose work is not postponed or can be carried out abroad
  • personnel in goods transport and other transport personnel
  • seasonal workers in agriculture
  • seafarers
  • foreign students whose studies cannot be carried out entirely from abroad
  • foreign family members arriving by family reunification and visiting trips for urgent family reasons
  • persons who need international protection or protection for other humanitarian reasons,
  • diplomats, Personnel from international organisations, military personnel and humanitarian workers in the course of their duties
  • late repatriates
  • passengers in transit traffic

These categories will, however, be subject to the requirement of quarantine based on the Infection Protection Act. Those presenting COVID-19 negative test results will be exempt from the mandatory quarantine.