Home / News / Germany Prolongs Internal Border Controls for 10 More Days


Horst SeehoferGermany’s temporary internal border controls at the borders with Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Denmark, Italy and Spain will remain in effect until May 15, the Federal Interior Ministry has decided.

The decision to extend the border controls for another ten days, which were set to expire on May 5, has been taken by Minister of Interior Horst Seehofer himself, who asserted that prolongation is necessary given the continuing fragile situation of the spread of the Coronavirus.

Federal Interior Minister Seehofer has decided to initially extend the border controls temporarily reintroduced at the internal borders with Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Denmark, Italy and Spain with effect from May 5, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive. In this way, the risk of infection from the Coronavirus is to be successfully contained by interrupting the infection chains,” a press release of the Ministry of Interior announces.

The decision has been taken according to the Article 28 of the Schengen Borders Code, and a corresponding notification letter has been sent to the European Commission and the interior ministers of the EU countries, in compliance with the border extension rules.

Last month, Germany decided to extend the border controls with Austria for an extra six months, after Greece warned that Turkey was driving migrants to the border with Greece, fearing that the 2015-scenario when about two million migrants reached Germany, may repeat.

Currently, Germany has guaranteed that the cross-border movement of goods and the cross-border movement of commuters will normally continue

Cross-border travel is generally permitted if there is a valid reason, depending on the circumstances of the individual case. This includes medical treatment, deaths in the closest family, entry to a spouse and registered life partner,” the Ministry explains.

In spite of border controls with most of its neighbours, Germany has not imposed any checks at the internal borders with Belgium and the Netherlands.

Amidst other measures taken to contain the spread of the virus, and ensure the well-being of citizens and foreigners stranded in the country, Germany has also spared from criminal charges short-term visa holders who cannot leave due to travel restrictions and hardship, whose visas have expired or will expire in the meantime, until June 30, 2020.