Home / News / Germany Set to Abolish Internal Border Controls on June 15


Germany will remove border controls at the majority of its internal borders on June 15, introduced due to the Coronavirus pandemic back in March this year.

The decision has been taken by the Federal Interior Minister Horst Seehofer, who informed the Federal Cabinet on the move, noting that the decision affects borders Austria, France, Switzerland, Italy and Denmark.

However, Minister Seehofer has decided to keep border controls in air traffic arriving from Span until June 1, upon mutual agreement with the Spanish authorities.

The pandemic in Europe has clearly been contained, but it is not yet over. Responsible behaviour and caution is still required. If the infection rate increases significantly, the Federal Government will examine the necessary measures and initiate them if necessary,” the Minister said announcing the decision.

According to the Ministry of Interior, Seehofer’s decision generally eliminates the need for a valid reason for entry when travelling from other EU countries to Germany. At the same time, it applies to entries from the Schengen-associated countries Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland as well as the United Kingdom.

However, the authorities have decided to keep the temporary internal border controls on the German-Austrian land border, which are carried out for reasons of migration and security policy, are still required, among other things, due to the continuing illegal migration potential on the Balkan route.

The Federal Minister of the Interior recently reorganized them with effect from November 12, 2020, on the basis of Articles 25 to 27 of the Schengen Borders Code,” the Minister explains in a statement.

On EU Commission’s recommendation, Germany will lift all entry restrictions for EU citizens as of June 15, while non-EU nationals will be eligible to enter starting from July 1, gradually and partially, among the first to benefit will be the citizens of the six Western Balkan countries – Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia.

On the other hand, the Federal Government of Germany has warned its citizens planning to travel abroad, to avoid doing so until August 31, asserting that the situation abroad regarding the virus is not very good, and travelling would be risky for both the travellers and Germany.