Home / News / Germany to Issue Visas to E-Passport Holders Only


E-Passport Rwandans and Kenyans will no longer be able to get a visa to Germany with an old generation passport. Starting from June 1 and on, Germany will issue visas only to holders of electronic passports.

German embassies will reject providing with visa appointment any national of Kenya or Rwanda not holding an e-passport.

According to the Germany embassy in Nairobi, Kenyans planning to travel to Germany after June 1 will only be getting visa appointment after acquiring the e-passport.

Pursuant to current Schengen laws, passports must still be valid at least 90 days after the end of the validity of a given Visa, so for visa applications for travels ending after June, 1, 2019, from now on — only new Kenyan passports can be accepted,” the embassy officially announced on May 28.

Previously the Kenyan authorities announced that starting from September 1, 2019, all Kenyan passports- expect for the new East Africa biometric e-Passports – will be rendered invalid.

As a rule of the “Schengen Visa Code”, which is the common law for the member countries of the Schengen Area, all travelers must have a minimum validity of three months in their passports when applying for a visa to the Schengen area, including Germany. As such, after June 1, every old generation passport will be invalid for Germany visa application, expect for the new East Africa biometric e-Passports.

E-passports are also known as digital passports or biometric passports. They contain an embedded electronic microprocessor chip with biometric information on the identity of the passport holder.