Germany has removed the entry ban for the residents of more third countries in July 4, granting them entry to the German territory regardless of their vaccination status, including for tourism purposes.

According to a press release of the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Home Affairs, the decision has been taken following a recommendation of the EU Council of Ministers of July 1, 2021, to remove entry restrictions for the residents of these third countries.

In view of the further decrease in the number of infections in several third countries, the Federal Government will in future allow entry for all permissible purposes of residence, including tourism from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Jordan, Canada, Qatar, Kosovo, Moldova and Montenegro,” the Ministry explains.

With these countries added to the list, now the residents of a total of 25 third countries can enter Germany for tourism purposes, even if they are not vaccinated against COVID-19. These countries are as follows:

  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Australia
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  6. Brunei
  7. Canada
  8. Hong Kong
  9. Israel
  10. Japan
  11. Jordan
  12. Kosovo
  13. Lebanon
  14. Macau
  15. Moldova
  16. Montenegro
  17. New Zealand
  18. North Macedonia
  19. Qatar
  20. Serbia
  21. Singapore
  22. South Korea
  23. Taiwan
  24. Thailand
  25. United States

Anyone who is resident in one of these countries can enter the country without an important reason for travel and regardless of their vaccination status,” the Ministry reiterates.

Previously on June 20, Germany opened the borders for travellers from Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, Albania, Serbia, North Macedonia, the United States and Lebanon, including for tourism purposes.

Whereas since June 25, vaccinated travellers from the majority of world countries are eligible to travel to Germany for all types of purposes, including for tourism, after the German government decided to lift the entry ban on third-country travellers, which has been in place since mid-March 2020.

Unable to enter are only travellers from virus variant areas, even if they are vaccinated. Currently in this list are Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, India, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Portugal, Russia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Uruguay, as well as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland of the Isle of Man.

According to Our World in Data statistics, 46,249,449 people in Germany have received at least the first dose of COVID-19, while 31,487,487 of them have been fully vaccinated.